and some days you’re bad ass.

Ever have those days where you feel on top of the world?! Nothing can stop you! You can do it all!

Sure, they may not be but every couple weeks (or maybe more often if you’re lucky), but today was one of those days! My alarm went off this morning at 5:30am and I popped up, got dressed, made some coffee and was out the door before the sun was up. 12 minutes later, I started a morning run and raced to the beach trying to beat the sun to the shore. Today, I won. Turned around and finished just over 5 miles at 7am.

Off to work I went, endorphins and sweat flowing, feeling good. There’s nothing like feeling accomplished before even getting into work on a Monday morning! 5 miles down, what else was on the agenda. Work flew by — checking emails, getting things done. When it was time to workout, I got in the mindspace, changed and started with a warm up run…in the 100+ degree heat. Followed by an insanely hot 40 minutes in the gym working on squats, squat cleans, sumo squats and pushups, I finished up with the last thing in the world I wanted to do, run another mile in the heat. I make it a habit to open and close my Monday WODs with miles…while it never gets easier, it seems to be pretty awesome and butt kicking and sometimes even vomit inducing. I left the gym feeling accomplished — 7 miles done and a workout to boot!

Later, the energy continued to flow. I jumped on the court and drilled and it felt amazing. Driving solid balls through the court well over 80 miles an hour, moving around, pain free. Gotta love that feeling on a monday where nothing yet is sore or hurting.

Anyway, one might think this blog post is just showing off and bragging. But really it’s a nice reminder that somedays I am pretty badass. Over the weekend I had some friends tell me how athletic I was. I laughed it off and said they must not have been referring to me, but one of the other 3 guys I had been playing beach volleyball with. “No. I watched you out there. And I watched them..you are athletic.”

It got me thinking. I may not have ever had the most natural talent. Or athletic abilities. But I sure as hell will try harder than anyone I know. And I’m coachable and competitive. And you bet your ass I ran 7 miles today, played tennis AND worked out…you’re damn right I’m athletic!

I’m slowly learning to like little things here and there about myself physically. Like my baby lats that slowly are popping up above my shoulders. And how maybe my waist isn’t leaning out but my bra line is…leading to emphasizing my broad shoulders and strong legs. I’ve never worried about a thigh gap per say, but my quads are strong and my legs have carried me through hell and back. For whatever reason, the veins in my hands pop just a little bit more lately and the calluses on my hands are actually a badge of honor to me, while most men (and women) would find them disgusting. My aches and pains remind me of how hard I push. And my sweaty clothes that I need to air out every day are also soaked with passion and pride. Maybe my body isn’t changing drastically, but every day I work hard to get stronger and become more of who I want to be.

Either way…on most days where my head can be consumed about ways I can be better, try harder, be nicer, accomplish more…today, I’m just going to be proud of me. No, I don’t have four kinds and 3 jobs…I’m just living a life I love, but today, I pushed myself and was positive and strong and somedays, that’s enough. And today, I was badass.

xox.

Leave a Reply

